Sign in
Doctor Medicine
Doctor Medicine about 1 year ago
💥𝐇𝐢𝐬𝐭𝐨𝐥𝐨𝐠𝐲 𝐨𝐟 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐟𝐞𝐦𝐚𝐥𝐞 𝐫𝐞𝐩𝐫𝐨𝐝𝐮𝐜𝐭𝐢𝐯𝐞 𝐬𝐲𝐬𝐭𝐞𝐦💥

💥𝐇𝐢𝐬𝐭𝐨𝐥𝐨𝐠𝐲 𝐨𝐟 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐟𝐞𝐦𝐚𝐥𝐞 𝐫𝐞𝐩𝐫𝐨𝐝𝐮𝐜𝐭𝐢𝐯𝐞 𝐬𝐲𝐬𝐭𝐞𝐦💥

showing a diagram of the ovary. In most species, the ovaries are composed of an outer cortex and inner medulla (except in the mare where the cortical region is interior to the medulla). The cortex is composed of ovarian follicles(developing oocytes with their associated follicular cells), interstitial gland cells and stromal elements.  Ovarian follicles are in different stages of development (least mature to most mature): primordial, primary, secondary, secondary-vesicular and mature.  1.  The function of the ovary is to secrete: ova and female hormones  female hormones only  ova only 2. The cortex of the ovary is composed of : the medulla and the hilus loose areolar connective tissue, blood vessels, nerves and lymphatics ovarian follicles, interstitial cells and stromal elements 3.  These types of follicles may arise at any stage in the development of follicles and represent a dead or degenerating follicle: vesicular follicle atretic follicle luteal follicle.

Other commentsSign in to post comments. Don't have an account? Sign up now!