Sign in
jamesjiover 1 year ago

How can you grade the severity of aortic stenosis?

Top rated comment
over 1 year ago

Based on aortic valve area (ava) & pressure difference between Aorta & Left Ventricle on echocardiography. as Mild (AVA 1.2–1.8 cm2, mean gradient 12–25 mm Hg), Moderate (AVA 0.8–1.2 cm2, mean gradient 25–40 mm Hg), Severe (AVA 0.6–0.8 cm2, mean gradient 40–50 mm Hg), or critical (AVA <0.6 cm2, mean gradient >50 mm Hg).

Other commentsSign in to post comments. Don't have an account? Sign up now!
over 1 year ago

I hope you enjoy cardiology 🫀 😀

over 1 year ago

Stages to determine the severity of Aortic Stenosis Stage 0: No cardiac damage Stage 1: Left ventricle damage, Increased LV mass index i.e. >115 g/m2 in males and >95 g/m2 in females, Left Ventricular Ejection Fraction (LVEF) < 50%, E/e > 14 Stage 2: Left atrium or mitral damage, Indexed LA volume > 34 ml/m2, moderate to severe mitral regurgitation Stage 3: Pulmonary vasculature or tricuspid damage, Systolic pulmonary hypertension > 60 mmHg, moderate to severe tricuspid regurgitation Stage 4: Right ventricle damage, moderate to severe RV dysfunction